Board of Directors

The REA Bylaws (2010) state that “the management of all affairs, property, and business of the Association shall be vested in a Board of Directors who shall consist of the elected officers and Board members.” The REA:APPRRE Board Handbook further detailed the roles and responsibilities of our board, officers, and staff. Some members of the board also serve on the steering committee and the program conference committee.  The members of the current board are listed below.


Harold (Bud) Horell

Harold (Bud) Horell
Graduate School of Religion and Religious Education
Fordham University
Bronx, NY

President-Elect & 2016 Program Chair

Bert Roebben
Dortmund University
Dortmund, Germany

Vice-President & 2017 Program Chair

Mualla Selçuk

Mualla Selçuk
Professor of Religious Education
Faculty of Divinity/Continuing Education Center
Ankara University



Mai-Anh Le Tran
Eden Theological Seminary
St. Louis, MO


Kevin Sandberg, C.S.C. (2017)
University of Notre Dame
Notre Dame, IN

Recording Secretary

Virginia Lee

Virginia A. Lee (2016)
Garrett-Evangelical Theological Seminary
Evanston, IL


Kathy Winings (2017), Chair
Religious Education in Faith Communities Standing Committee
Unification Theological Seminary
Barrytown NY

Barbara Morgan (2018),  Chair
Religious Education in Public Life and Global Community Standing Committee
Brigham Young University
Provo, UT

Tony Vrame (2018), Chair
Religious Education in Academic Disciplines and Institutions Standing Committee
Greek Orthodox Archdiocese of America
New York, New York

Katherine Turpin (2018), Member-At-Large and Chair
Proposals Selection Committee
Iliff School of Theology
Denver, CO

Carmichael Crutchfield (2018), Member-At-Large
Memphis Theological Seminary
Memphis, Tennessee

Arch Wong (2016),  Member-At-Large
Ambrose Seminary, Ambrose University
Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Justus Baird (2016), Chair, Harper / Wornom Committee
Auburn Seminary
New York, New York

Barbara Senecal-Davis (2017), Student Representative
Executive Minister, First Presbyterian Church, NYC
PhD Student at Fordham University

Ex Officio Members

Lucinda Huffaker, Executive Secretary
Yale Divinity School
New Haven, CT

Mary Hess, Networking Coordinator
Luther Seminary
St. Paul, MN

Joyce Mercer, Editor, Religious Education
Yale Divinity School
New Haven, CT



Harper / Wornom Committee

Justus Baird (2016), Chair, Auburn Theological Seminary
Boyung Lee (2017), Pacific School of Religion
Mary Elizabeth Moore (2018), Boston University
Maureen O’Brien (2019), Duquesne University

Board Steering Committee

The Board Steering Committee is comprised of the President, President-Elect, Past-President, Vice-President, Recording Secretary, Treasurer, Executive Secretary, Networking Coordinator, and the Journal Editor.

Nominating Committee

The Nominating Committee is comprised of retiring Board and Committee members, and one member at large elected by the membership. The committee is chaired by the President.

Program Conference Committee

The Program Conference Committee is comprised of the President, President-Elect, Vice-President, Standing Committee Chairs, Call for Papers Chair, Harper/Wornom Committee Chair, Executive Secretary, and the Networking Coordinator.

AAR Program Committee

The AAR Program Committee is comprised of the President, President-Elect, Vice-President, and the Past-President.

Proposals Selection Committee

Dean Manternach (2016)
Ryan Gardner (2016)

Journal Board Representatives

Joyce Mercer, Editor
David F. White (2016)
Najeeba Syeed (2017)
Deborah Court (2018)