Board of Directors

The REA Bylaws (2010) state that “the management of all affairs, property, and business of the Association shall be vested in a Board of Directors who shall consist of the elected officers and Board members.” The REA:APPRRE Board Handbook further detailed the roles and responsibilities of our board, officers, and staff. Some members of the board also serve on the steering committee and the program conference committee.  The members of the current board are listed below.

President

Harold (Bud) Horell

Harold (Bud) Horell
Graduate School of Religion and Religious Education
Fordham University
Bronx, NY
horell@fordham.edu

President-Elect & 2016 Program Chair

Bert Roebben
Dortmund University
Dortmund, Germany
hubertus.roebben@tu-dortmund.de

Vice-President & 2017 Program Chair

MuallaSelçuk

Mualla Selçuk
Professor of Religious Education
Faculty of Divinity/Continuing Education Center
Ankara University
Mualla.Selcuk@divinity.ankara.edu.tr

Past-President

t-MaiAnh-PortraitBW3451_04Ll

Mai-Anh Le Tran
Eden Theological Seminary
St. Louis, MO
mtran@eden.edu

Treasurer

Kevin Sandberg, C.S.C. (2017)
University of Notre Dame
Notre Dame, IN
ksandbergcsc@gmail.com

Recording Secretary

Virginia Lee

Virginia A. Lee (2016)
Garrett-Evangelical Theological Seminary
Evanston, IL
virginia.lee@garrett.edu

Members

barbaramorgan

Barbara Morgan (2018),  Chair
Religious Education in Public Life and Global Community Standing Committee
Brigham Young University
Provo, UT
barbara_morgan@byu.edu

tonyvrame

Tony Vrame (2018), Chair 
Religious Education in Academic Disciplines and Institutions Standing Committee
Greek Orthodox Archdiocese of America
New York, New York
tvrame@goarch.org

kathywinings

Kathy Winings (2017), Chair
Religious Education in Faith Communities Standing Committee
Unification Theological Seminary
Barrytown NY
academics@uts.edu

katherineturpin

Katherine Turpin (2018), Member-At-Large and Chair
Proposals Selection Committee
Iliff School of Theology
Denver, CO
kturpin@iliff.edu

CarmichaelCrutchfield

Carmichael Crutchfield (2018), Member-At-Large
Memphis Theological Seminary
Memphis, Tennessee
ccrutchfield@memphisseminary.edu

archwong

Arch Wong (2016),  Member-At-Large
Ambrose Seminary in Ambrose University
Calgary, Alberta awong@ambrose.edu

justusbaird

Justus Baird (2016), Chair of the Harper&Wornom Committees 
Auburn Seminary
New York, New York
jbaird@auburnseminary.org

barbarasenacoldavis

Barbara Senecal-Davis (2017), Student Representative
Executive Minister, First Presbyterian Church, NYC
PhD Student at Fordham University
bsenecaldavis@fordham.edu

Ex Officio Members

lucindahuffaker

Lucinda Huffaker, Executive Secretary 
Yale Divinity School
New Haven, CT
secretary@religiouseducation.net

Hess2015

Mary Hess, Networking Coordinator 
Luther Seminary
St. Paul, MN
nc@religiouseducation.net

joycemercer

Joyce Mercer, Editor, Religious Education
Yale Divinity School
New Haven, CT
rejournal@yale.edu

 

Committees

Harper / Wornom Committee

Justus Baird (2016), Chair, Auburn Theological Seminary
Boyung Lee (2017), Pacific School of Religion
Mary Elizabeth Moore (2018), Boston University
Maureen O’Brien (2019), Duquesne University

Board Steering Committee

The Board Steering Committee is comprised of the President, President-Elect, Past-President, Vice-President, Recording Secretary, Treasurer, Executive Secretary, Networking Coordinator, and the Journal Editor.

Nominating Committee

The Nominating Committee is comprised of retiring Board and Committee members, and one member at large elected by the membership. The committee is chaired by the President.

Program Conference Committee

The Program Conference Committee is comprised of the President, President-Elect, Vice-President, Standing Committee Chairs, Call for Papers Chair, Harper/Wornom Committee Chair, Executive Secretary, and the Networking Coordinator.

AAR Program Committee

The AAR Program Committee is comprised of the President, President-Elect, Vice-President, and the Past-President.

Proposals Selection Committee

Dean Manternach (2016)
Ryan Gardner (2016)

Journal Board Representatives

Joyce Mercer, Editor
David F. White (2016)
Najeeba Syeed (2017)
Deborah Court (2018)