Board of Directors

The REA Bylaws state that “the management of all affairs, property, and business of the Association shall be vested in a Board of Directors who shall consist of the elected officers and Board members.” The REA:APPRRE Board Handbook further detailed the roles and responsibilities of our board, officers, and staff. Some members of the board also serve on the steering committee and the program conference committee.  The members of the current board are listed below.

President

Siebren Miedema

Siebren Miedema
VU University Amsterdam
The Netherlands
s.miedema@vu.nl

President-Elect & 2014 Program Chair

t-MaiAnh-PortraitBW3451_04Ll

Mai-Anh Le Tran
Eden Theological Seminary
St. Louis, MO
mtran@eden.edu

Past-President

Yolanda Smith

Yolanda Smith
Yale Divinity School
New Haven, CT
yolanda.smith@yale.edu

Vice-President & 2015 Program Chair

Harold (Bud) Horell

Harold (Bud) Horell
Graduate School of Religion and Religious Education
Fordham University
Bronx, NY
horell@fordham.edu

Treasurer

Michael Horan

Michael Horan (2014)
Loyola Marymount University
Los Angeles, CA
michael.horan@lmu.edu

Recording Secretary

Virginia Lee

Virginia A. Lee (2016)
Garrett-Evangelical Theological Seminary
Evanston, IL
virginia.lee@garrett.edu

Members

Richard Rymarz (2014), Chair, Religious Education in Faith Communities Forum
St. Joseph’s College
University of Alberta
Edmonton, Alberta
rymarz@ualberta.ca

Susanne Johnson (2014), Chair, Religious Education in Public Life and Global Community Forum
Perkins School of Theology
Dallas, TX
susannej@smu.edu

Leah Gunning Francis (2014), Chair, Religious Education in Academic Disciplines and Institutions Forum
Eden Theological Seminary
St. Louis, MO
lgunningfrancis@eden.edu

Ted Brelsford (2014), Member-At-Large and Chair, Papers Selection Committee
Orchard Park Community Church
Orchard Park, NY
tb.opcc@verizon.net

Mualla Selçuk, Member-At-Large
Ankara University
Ankara, Turkey
selcuk@divinity.ankara.edu.tr

Arch Wong,  Member-At-Large
Ambrose Seminary, Ambrose University
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
awong@ambrose.edu

Chuck Foster (2014), Chair, Harper / Wornom Committee
Candler School of Theology, Emeritus
Salem, OR
cfoster485@earthlink.net

Kevin Sandberg, CSC (2016), Student Representative
Director of Graduate Student Initiatives and Faith Education
Center for Social Concerns, University of Notre Dame
ksandbergcsc@gmail.com

Ex Officio Members

Lucinda Huffaker, Executive Secretary
Yale Divinity School
New Haven, CT
secretary@religiouseducation.net

Jack Seymour, Editor, Religious Education
Garrett-Evangelical Theological Seminary
Evanston, IL
jack.seymour@garrett.edu

Committees

Harper / Wornom Committee

Chuck Foster, Chair
Boyung Lee (2016), Pacific School of Religion
Sara S. Lee (2015), Hebrew Union College
Justus Baird (2015), Auburn Theological Seminary

Board Steering Committee

The Board Steering Committee is comprised of the President, President-Elect, Past-President, Vice-President, Recording Secretary, Treasurer, Executive Secretary, Networking Coordinator, and the Journal Editor.

Nominating Committee

The Nominating Committee is comprised of retiring Board and Committee members, chaired by the President.

Program Conference Committee

The Program Conference Committee is comprised of the President, President-Elect, Vice-President, Forum Chairs, Call for Papers Chair, Harper/Wornom Committee Chair, Executive Secretary, and the Networking Coordinator.

AAR Program Committee

The AAR Program Committee is comprised of the President, President-Elect, Vice-President, and the Past-President.

Papers Selection Committee

Ted Brelsford, Chair (2014)
Carmichael Crutchfield (2016, Religious Education in Faith Communities Forum)
Dean Manternach (2016, Religious Education in Public Life & Global Community Forum)
Ryan Gardner (2016, Religious Education in Academic Disciplines & Institutions Forum)

Journal Board Representatives

Jack Seymour, Editor
David F. White (2015, Religious Education in Faith Communities Forum)
Hyun-Sook Kim (2015, Religious Education in Public Life & Global Community Forum)
Najeeba Syeed-Miller (2015, Religious Education in Academic Disciplines & Institutions Forum)